The 2015 #VoTogs52 Project

The #VoTogsWeekly Project

We have rebranded!

What was #VoTogs52 is now #VoTogsWeekly!

Join us!

Every week we will issue a theme or challenge.

Explore different styles, genres, techniques, and challenges. Everything from self-portraits to landscapes, black and white photography to HDR, photographing strangers to including ribbon…

Sign up over at our forums and introduce yourself. And strap in for the #VoTogsWeekly Challenge!

Did we mention prizes?!

We are proud to announce that ThinkTankPhoto have agreed to help us out and we will be giving away a few goodies! We will be giving away one Pixel Pocket memory card wallet each month when Kevin and I do our wrap. On top of this we have something special planned for the Quarterly wraps, during which we will also be giving away a Think Tank Photo Turnstyle camera bag!

So what’s not to get excited about?! Join us for the challenge and have some fun!

And, remember, it’s never too late to join! Have a read of the rules below, which include some basics and some rules regarding prizes.

Receive a FREE CAMERA BAG from Think Tank Photo

Check out the 1st Month’s Wrap!

Check out the 2nd Month’s Wrap!


Challenge Rules

There are a few rules, but they’re not that heavy. Read on:

1) New themes will be announced Thursday morning (Australian time).

2) You have until the following Wednesday to complete the challenge.

3) Create something new and do not dip into the archives. This is the challenge! If old photos are used for your weekly photo, you may be disqualified from being included in the prize draw.

4) You can join in any time. Feel free to catch up on the old briefs if you wish—that said, catching up is essential if you wish to win prizes.

5) Keep your images tasteful, please. VoTogs reserves the right to remove any post/image that is considered offensive.

6) You must post your images on the forums to be considered for any prizes (see Rule 9).

Regardless of which photo hosting service you are using, please make sure your images are posted at a large size (or, if you are posting smaller sizes, ensure a larger version is made public and link through to it). Images must be at a reasonable size for judging consideration for prizes and for inclusion in wraps.

Feel free to add them to our 500px group or Flickr group, tag them #VoTogs52 and include the week number somewhere (e.g. the title)!

7) Have fun! This is about growth and the challenge.

 

Prize T&Cs

8) We perform what we call ‘wraps’, during which the VoTogs team discuss images.

During this, there will be editor’s choice photos shared and published on our site (with credit, naturally). This may be by posting on the site or inclusion within other forms of media. By taking part in this challenge, you automatically allow us the right to do this and only this. Your image will not be used in any other way without your express permission. Your image will not be used for profit. It will be used purely to share the work that is being submitted.

During these wraps we will announce winners of prizes.

9) To be eligible for prizes, you must have completed every photo within that time period. i.e. Every photo for the month, or every photo for the quarter.

9a) For Monthly Wraps, we will be giving away a Pixel Pocket memory card wallet. This will be done via a raffle. Each entry submitted on time during the month will get two entries into the draw; each entry submitted late during the month will get one entry into the draw. A random number generator will decide the winner.

9b) For Quarterly Wraps, we will be doing something special involving a guest judge. We will be looking at a selection of images not just in terms of technical skill, but interpretation of theme and originality. There will be photographers of ALL levels entering this. It doesn’t matter if you’re a pro or an amateur, there’s room for everyone in this challenge and everyone has a chance to be featured or win prizes! The winner of the Think Tank Photo Turnstyle camera bag will based on a magical formula derived from the single hair of a unicorn, photograph execution and photographer skill, interpretation of theme and the mood and sobriety level of our guest judge. Judges decisions are, however, final.

10) Have fun! Prizes are awesome, but it’s as much about fun as anything else!

Here we have all the themes and close dates:

Click this arrow to expand the list of themes!    

Week 1 — Self-Portrait
Theme Announced On Thursday, 1 January 2015
Photo entered by Wednesday, 7 January 2015

Week 1 your photo is to be a Self-Portrait. Use it as a means to introduce yourself. How will you share who you are and what you are about? Click here if you need some tips!

 

Week 2 — The Rule of Thirds
Theme Announced On Thursday, 8 January 2015
Photo entered by Wednesday, 14 January 2015

Week 2 we are going to challenge you think about the composition in your photo carefully by asking you to employ The Rule of Thirds. Take a photo of anything you like, be it a portrait or a landscape or anything of your choosing, but it must employ the rule. Click here if you need an explanation!

 

Week 3 — Prop Week: Paper
Theme Announced On Thursday, 15 January 2015
Photo entered by Wednesday, 21 January 2015

Week 3 the challenge is to include Paper in your photo. Again, take any kind of photograph you like — self-portrait, portrait, landscape, or anything you desire — but paper in some form must feature.

 

Week 4 — Lines / Leading Lines
Theme Announced On Thursday, 22 January 2015
Photo entered by Wednesday, 28 January 2015

Week 4 you are to consider Lines in your photograph. Now, there are two possibilities with doing this. You can use lines in the loose sense — a dress with stripes, lines on paper, etc — or, if you want to challenge yourself, consider Leading Lines. Click here if you need an explanation of what “Leading Lines” are all about!

 

Week 5 — Emotions
Theme Announced On Thursday, 29 January 2015
Photo entered by Wednesday, 4 February 2015

Week 5 is all about Emotion. Photography is often used to capture moments in time. These moments are often epitomised by emotion. The strongest images often explore moments of extreme emotion: happiness, sadness, love, lust, anger, anxiety, surprise, fear, joy. We want you to capture some emotion in your photo.

 

Week 6 — Blue
Theme Announced On Thursday, 5 February 2015
Photo entered by Wednesday, 11 February 2015

Week 6 is focused on the colour Blue. Blue is an interesting colour; it often portrays nostalgia, trust, loyalty and peace. It can also be indicative of sadness and wide open spaces. Something blue should be a feature in your image or you could consider other ways to portray blue in your image.

 

Week 7 — Nightscapes
Theme Announced On Thursday, 12 February 2015
Photo entered by Wednesday, 18 February 2015

Week 7 is about steadying your camera and capturing a beautiful Nightscape. For this week, we are limiting what you can do, somewhat, by requesting you capturing a Nightscape. To explain, we want you to capture a landscape or cityscape (i.e. a view of the city) taken at night. The focus should be the view, rather than an individual or prop. For the purposes of this challenge, we consider night to be once the sun has sunk completely below the horizon, the colourful glow vanished and darkness seeping in.

 

Week 8 — Chinese New Year
Theme Announced On Thursday, 19 February 2015
Photo entered by Wednesday, 25 February 2015

Week 8 we celebrating Chinese New Year and asking you to take an Asian Inspired Photograph. 19 February (the day this theme was posted in Australia) marks the first day of the Year of the Goat. What are we looking for this week? Anything Asian, be it chopsticks, a roast duck in the window of a restaurant, red packets (ang pow). Bonus if it is a Chinese Dragon dance, firecrackers and a goat (no need to proof it as a buck, wether or doe).

 

Week 9 — Movement and Motion
Theme Announced On Thursday, 26 February 2015
Photo entered by Wednesday, 4 March 2015

Week 9 is all about experimenting and capturing some Movement and Motion in your photograph. Slow your shutter speed a little and see the effects you can create.

 

Week 10 — Music
Theme Announced On Thursday, 5 March 2015
Photo entered by Wednesday, 11 March 2015

Week 10 we want you capture what Music means to you. If you want to stretch yourself, I’ll be sharing a post in the next few days on live music photography if you want to take that approach. Otherwise, find a way to share how music plays a role in your life.

 

Week 11 — Contrast
Theme Announced On Thursday, 12 March 2015
Photo entered by Wednesday, 18 March 2015

Week 11 is about Contrast. There are two options…

1) You could take a photo utilising high contrast in black and white. This would be an example of high contrast black and white photography — note the rich blacks and the use of light and shadow.

2) Or you could photograph something with contrasting elements. Contrast is defined as “the state of being strikingly different from something else in juxtaposition or close association.” An example could be a photograph of a lone surviving tree in the middle of a burnt out forest.

Entirely up to you what you photograph — portrait, self-portrait, landscape, architectural, street, any style you like. Have some fun with it.

 

Week 12 — Narrative
Theme Announced On Thursday, 19 March 2015
Photo entered by Wednesday, 25 March 2015

Week 12 we want you to tell a story and share a Narrative in your photograph.

The best images aren’t always those that are PERFECTLY executed, but one that shares a story. It tells the viewer about the subject, about the place, about the focus on the image. Every element in the photo should mean something to the image. So, plan your image and take care when creating it — be wary of background clutter unless it is significant to the story you are trying to share.

Pop on through our Building Narratives articles, Part 1 and Part 2.

 

Week 13 — Water
Theme Announced On Thursday, 26 March 2015
Photo entered by Wednesday, 1 April 2015

Week 13 is Prop Week! Well, of sorts… We want you to feature Water in your photograph somehow.

Water is such a crucial part of, well, survival. We don’t mind how the water features. Be it a glass of water or an ocean, a waterfall or falling rain, ice or steam, let’s see what you come up with!

 

Week 14 — Man-Made
Theme Announced On Thursday, 2 April 2015
Photo entered by Wednesday, 8 April 2015

Week 14 we want you to explore the Man-Made world! Photograph something man-made, be it architecture, technology, or otherwise, show us something constructed and artificial.

There’s no room for rolling mountains or flowing streams; show us the great human constructions of this world!

 

Week 15 — Hands
Theme Announced On Thursday, 9 April 2015
Photo entered by Wednesday, 15 April 2015

Week 15 we want you to focus on Hands!

You will soon find that hands are a challenge to photograph. They are beautiful, but they are often awkward. Experiment with how you will include and accentuate hands within your photo. The photo does not have to be PURELY of hands, but your subjects hands must feature within the photo.

 

Week 16 — Artificial Light
Theme Announced On Thursday, 16 April 2015
Photo entered by Wednesday, 22 April 2015

 

Week 17 — Tempest
Theme Announced On Thursday, 23 April 2015
Photo entered by Wednesday, 29 April 2015

 

Week 18
Theme Announced On Thursday, 30 April 2015
Photo entered by Wednesday, 6 May 2015

 

Week 19
Theme Announced On Thursday, 7 May 2015
Photo entered by Wednesday, 13 May 2015

 

Week 20
Theme Announced On Thursday, 14 May 2015
Photo entered by Wednesday, 20 May 2015

 

Week 21
Theme Announced On Thursday, 21 May 2015
Photo entered by Wednesday, 27 May 2015

 

Week 22
Theme Announced On Thursday, 28 May 2015
Photo entered by Wednesday, 3 June 2015

 

Week 23
Theme Announced On Thursday, 4 June 2015
Photo entered by Wednesday, 10 June 2015

 

Week 24
Theme Announced On Thursday, 11 June 2015
Photo entered by Wednesday, 17 June 2015

 

Week 25
Theme Announced On Thursday, 18 June 2015
Photo entered by Wednesday, 24 June 2015

 

Week 26
Theme Announced On Thursday, 25 June 2015
Photo entered by Wednesday, 1 July 2015

 

Week 27
Theme Announced On Thursday, 2 July 2015
Photo entered by Wednesday, 8 July 2015

 

Week 28
Theme Announced On Thursday, 9 July 2015
Photo entered by Wednesday, 15 July 2015

 

Week 29
Theme Announced On Thursday, 16 July 2015
Photo entered by Wednesday, 22 July 2015

 

Week 30
Theme Announced On Thursday, 23 July 2015
Photo entered by Wednesday, 29 July 2015

 

Week 31
Theme Announced On Thursday, 30 July 2015
Photo entered by Wednesday, 5 August 2015

 

Week 32
Theme Announced On Thursday, 6 August 2015
Photo entered by Wednesday, 12 August 2015

 

Week 33
Theme Announced On Thursday, 13 August 2015
Photo entered by Wednesday, 19 August 2015

 

Week 34
Theme Announced On Thursday, 20 August 2015
Photo entered by Wednesday, 26 August 2015

 

Week 35
Theme Announced On Thursday, 27 August 2015
Photo entered by Wednesday, 2 September 2015

 

Week 36
Theme Announced On Thursday, 3 September 2015
Photo entered by Wednesday, 9 September 2015

 

Week 37
Theme Announced On Thursday, 10 September 2015
Photo entered by Wednesday, 16 September 2015

 

Week 38
Theme Announced On Thursday, 17 September 2015
Photo entered by Wednesday, 23 September 2015

 

Week 39
Theme Announced On Thursday, 24 September 2015
Photo entered by Wednesday, 30 September 2015

 

Week 40
Theme Announced On Thursday, 1 October 2015
Photo entered by Wednesday, 7 October 2015

 

Week 41
Theme Announced On Thursday, 8 October 2015
Photo entered by Wednesday, 14 October 2015

 

Week 42
Theme Announced On Thursday, 15 October 2015
Photo entered by Wednesday, 21 October 2015

 

Week 43
Theme Announced On Thursday, 22 October 2015
Photo entered by Wednesday, 28 October 2015

 

Week 44
Theme Announced On Thursday, 29 October 2015
Photo entered by Wednesday, 4 November 2015

 

Week 45
Theme Announced On Thursday, 5 November 2015
Photo entered by Wednesday, 11 November 2015

 

Week 46
Theme Announced On Thursday, 12 November 2015
Photo entered by Wednesday, 18 November 2015

 

Week 47
Theme Announced On Thursday, 19 November 2015
Photo entered by Wednesday, 25 November 2015

 

Week 48
Theme Announced On Thursday, 26 November 2015
Photo entered by Wednesday, 2 December 2015

 

Week 49
Theme Announced On Thursday, 3 December 2015
Photo entered by Wednesday, 9 December 2015

 

Week 50
Theme Announced On Thursday, 10 December 2015
Photo entered by Wednesday, 16 December 2015

Week 51

Theme Announced On Thursday, 17 December 2015
Photo entered by Wednesday, 23 December 2015

 

Week 52
Theme Announced On Thursday, 24 December 2015
Photo entered by Wednesday, 30 December 2015

Can’t wait to see your entries!

 


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>